WandaVision’s Kat Dennings opens up about how she got her role in Thor

Image credit: Instagram/@katdenningsss

Kat Dennings has given fans an insight into how she got her role as Darcy Lewis in Thor, also speaking about her time on WandaVision.

She has recently been welcomed back to the MCU with WandaVision, but Kat Dennings’ Darcy Lewis originally made her Marvel debut in 2011’s Thor.

Since then, she also appeared in Thor: The Dark World, yet was absent for the third film, Thor: Ragnarok, along with Natalie Portman’s Jane Foster.

Having finally made her return, actress Kat Dennings has spoken out about what it was like auditioning for such a big franchise and how her character has grown throughout the films.

On the Keep It! podcast, she explained the whole experience, including everything that went through her mind in the lead up to the audition.

“I have no idea what’s going on. I don’t know what the movie is, all I know is that it’s a superhero movie and I’m like ‘Am I a superhero?’ What do I wear, like, leggings? What do I do?”

The confusion didn’t stop there either, with the level of secrecy meaning Dennings was in the dark for most of the process.

“… I don’t know who I’m playing because you get fake sides… fake sides, character didn’t exist, [I] signed a thing at this address, I looked around, and I was like ‘There’s no one at this address’ and then someone came over in a golf cart, and he was like ‘I’m here to take you to the real place’ and I was like ‘What?”

Luckily, the actress had one person on her side for rehearsals, and that was none other than Natalie Portman.

“My part, Darcy, was originally two scenes. She was literally just an intern, just there to bounce off other people… and because Natalie and I are already friends, I remember this exactly. I walk into the room, and I’m very shy…” she explained.

“I came in, and I sat down, and Natalie hadn’t gotten there yet, and everyone was so nice. Natalie came in and sat on my lap because we’re friends…” she went on.

“I think our friendship started to infect them [like] its purity and love. Slowly, Darcy became more involved, and I was like, ‘Why are they adding me to scenes?’ and that’s what happened if I’m being honest, friendship magic is the reason I’m here today.”

Though the pair made quite the team, it’s refreshing to see Doctor Darcy Lewis take the stage on her own in WandaVision.

Will we be seeing a lot more of Darcy again in the MCU? Let’s hope so, especially considering Jane’s return in the upcoming Thor: Love and Thunder.

New episodes of WandaVision, starring Kat Dennings, are available to stream every Friday on Disney Plus.

Read more Marvel: 7 shocking revelations from WandaVision episode 4

Leave a comment